Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated was founded on January 15, 1908 at Howard University. It is the first and oldest greek-lettered organization established for women of color. The founders, Ethel Hedgeman Lyle and 15 other young ladies, envisioned an organization, which would promote social and economic betterment on the local, state, national and international levels.

This is in keeping with the Sorority's initial objective and purpose, to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, promote unity and friendship among college women, alleviate problems concerning women and girls and to maintain a progressive interest in college life. Through these activities, Alpha Kappa Alpha women fulfill the commitment embodied in her theme, "Service To 
All Mankind"

The Original Group

Anna Easter Brown, Beulah Burke, Lillie Burke, Marjorie Hill, Margaret Flagg Holmes, Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, Lavinia Norman, Lucy Slowe and 
Marie Woolfolk Taylor

 The Sophomores

Norma Boyd, Ethel Jones Mowbray, Alice Murray, Sarah Meriweather Nutter, Joanna Berry Shields, Carrie Snowden and Harriet Terry.

Pearls Gallery

A lpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated            Xi Tau Chapter


The Founders
This page was last updated: October 13, 2015